Volunteer Fire Services

Stephens County Fire Services covers an area of 176 square miles. In addition, the county has  Mutual Aid agreements to assist fire departments in bordering counties in Georgia and South Carolina including Banks, Franklin, Habersham, Oconee, and the City of Toccoa.

Stephens County has an ISO rating of 6/10. An ISO 6 class applies to all structures located within five miles of a fire station and 1,000 feet from a fire hydrant. An ISO class 10 applies to all structures greater than five miles of a fire station and more than 1,000 feet from a fire hydrant. Stephens County residents benefit from lower insurance premiums as a result of this ISO classification 6.

Stephens County Fire Services consist of seven volunteer fire departments that proudly provide fire suppression, hazardous materials response, fire prevention training, and community education programs to residents and visitors of Stephens County. In addition, the Stephens County First Responder program is run through the Fire Service assisting Stephens County Emergency Medical Service.

Stephens County Fire Services is looking for quality volunteers 18 years old and older. Each station has its own application process to become a volunteer. Please contact the fire department you want to volunteer with for its particular application.

After being accepted by a local fire department you will be a Probationary Firefighter. At the discretion of the chief and completion of the Volunteer Firefighter with Live Fire course, you will be recognized as a Firefighter. The course targets those individuals who have the desire to become recognized and registered as volunteer firefighters in Georgia. The purpose is to meet the minimum training requirements as required by Georgia Law (O.C.G.A. Title 25) and Georgia Firefighter Standards and Training Council.   

Volunteer Fire Stations

County Fire Coordinator - Stacy Pulliam

Station 1 Eastanollee Fire Department
Chief Jamey Gettys
Eastanollee By-Pass, Eastanollee, GA 30538
Meets Every Monday at 6:30 p.m.

Station 2 Carnes Creek Fire Department
Chief Jody Marcus
Mize Rd., Toccoa, GA 30577
Mees every Monday at 6:30 p.m.

Station 3 New Hope Fire Department
Chief Stacy Pulliam
Highway 106, Toccoa, GA 30577
Meets every Monday at 6 p.m.

Station 4 Big Smith Fire Department
Chief Jonothan Jordan
Toccoa, GA 30577
Meets every Monday night

Station 5 Martin Fire Department
Chief Len Stovall
Martin, GA 30557

Meets every other Monday night

Station 6 Shiloh Fire Department
Chief Jeff Lanier
Nate Maddox Rd. (Off Prather Bridge Rd.), Toccoa, GA 30577
Meets every Monday at 7 p.m.

Station 7 Tate Creek Fire Department
Chief Stuart Gaines
Off Hwy 184 near Banks County line, Toccoa, GA 30577
Meets every Tuesday night