`

Department of Motor Vehicles

In Georgia, you must be at least 16 years old to apply for a Class D or Class M license; 15-year-olds may apply for a learner's permit.
     
All first time drivers in the state of Georgia are required by law to take the 30-hour driver education course in order to obtain a Driver's License by 16. All new drivers in the state of Georgia, regardless of age, must take a written test and a driving test.
     
If you have moved to Georgia from another state and need to transfer your license, you must do so within 30 days.

The state now gives the applicant the choice of a five-year or 10-year license, with the following costs: Class A, 8, C, and M 5-year, $20; 10-year, $35; Instructional permit, $10; Class D provisional license 5-year, $10. If you choose to renew your license by phone, mail, or Internet, you will receive a $5 discount. For more information visit www.dds.ga.gov.

Download Brochure: Secure Driver's License and ID


CONTACT INFORMATION
144 East Doyle St.
Toccoa, GA 30577
Phone: 706-282-4821
Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.